1-800-217-8437 - Call us Today!

Request a Quote

Reliable Duct HVAC Leak Expert Services

For a FREE Consultation with a Certified Air Balance Consultant, fill out the form or just call!

Duct HVAC Leak

One place that the orifice is utilized extensively in the field is as part of a duct pressure test kit. The orifice itself is normally mounted in a solid piece of pipe and is supplied with its own calibration curves. This orifice tube allows the easy determination of the air volume passing into an isolated section of duct under test so that the amount of leakage at a given pressure can be found.

Duct HVAC Leak

The method for determining duct leakage and the allowances are normally found in the project specifications. One method is the straight percentage method. If the specifications state that the high-pressure duct is allowed I% leakage at 1.5 times operating pressure, then the entire high pressure portion of the duct system should be isolated and pressurized to approximately 1.5 times the unit's external static pressure. Sometimes this is not practical, and the duct system must be tested in segments. Each segment is allowed a portion of the overall 1% loss. The amount allowed in the segment can be determined, by determining what part of the total system surface area this segment represents.

This procedure begins to get complicated in large installations. One method that has addressed the issue of loss versus duct surface area is a SMACNA duct leakage test based on duct seal classification and leakage factors per square foot of duct. The test procedure is identical to the straight percentage test however the preparation requires that the entire square feet of surface area of each class duct and the proportion being tested be known before the test begins. A great deal of time and effort goes into the preparation so the test can be accomplished properly. For details, see the current SMACNA HVAC Air Duct Leakage Test Manual.


Global Coverage

Andorra United Arab Emirates Afghanistan Antigua and Barbuda Albania Armenia Angola Argentina Austria Australia Azerbaijan Bosnia and Herzegovina Barbados Bangladesh Belgium Burkina Faso Bulgaria Bahrain Burundi Benin Bermuda Bolivia Brazil Bahamas Bhutan Botswana Belarus Belize Canada Congo Central African Republic Congo Switzerland Cote d'Ivoire Chile Cameroon China Colombia Costa Rica Cuba Cape Verde Cyprus Czech Republic Germany Denmark Dominica Dominican Republic Algeria Ecuador Estonia Egypt Spain Ethiopia Finland Fiji Micronesia France Gabon United Kingdom Grenada Georgia Ghana Greenland Gambia Guinea Equatorial Guinea Greece Guatemala Guinea-Bissau Guyana Honduras Croatia Haiti Hungary Indonesia Ireland Israel India Iraq Iran Iceland Italy Jamaica Jordan Japan Kenya Kyrgyzstan Cambodia Comoros Saint Kitts and Nevis Korea Kuwait Kazakhstan Lao People's Democratic Republic Lebanon Saint Lucia Liechtenstein Sri Lanka Liberia Lesotho Lithuania Luxembourg Latvia Libyan Arab Jamahiriya Morocco Moldova Madagascar Macedonia Mali Myanmar Mongolia Macao Mauritania Montserrat Mauritius Maldives Malawi Mexico Malaysia Mozambique Namibia Niger Nigeria Nicaragua Netherlands Norway New Zealand Oman Panama Peru Papua New Guinea Philippines Pakistan Poland Portugal Paraguay Qatar Romania Serbia Russian Federation Rwanda Saudi Arabia Solomon Islands Seychelles Sudan Sweden Slovenia Slovakia Sierra Leone San Marino Senegal Somalia Suriname Sao Tome and Principe El Salvador Syrian Arab Republic Swaziland Chad Togo Thailand Tajikistan Turkmenistan Tunisia Tonga Turkey Trinidad and Tobago Taiwan Tanzania Ukraine Uganda Uruguay Uzbekistan Saint Vincent and the Grenadines Venezuela Vietnam Vanuatu Yemen South Africa Zambia Zimbabwe